Ladies Geeking Out

(787) 238-5754

The most active geek club for women in the Lafayette, IN area! Join us if you want to geek out and have a great time!

The Aethernet Explorer

Greetings fellow Aethernauts!  I am Lady Jane Bainbridge, but you may refer to me as Lady J.

 I have been asked to travel the world and bring back to you all of my wonderful steampunk-related findings!  I have eagerly accepted this assignment, and going forward I shall be reporting in about once a week.  If you see my ship, the Anisoptera, flying by, do say hello!  Traveling with me shall also be my dear Procyon (also known as Percy), my pet raccoon.

For my first report, I would love to share some of the extraordinary clothiers I came upon while preparing for this journey.  One must have proper clothing for traveling after all!

Below is a list of some of my favorite ateliers.

Clockwork Couture  (www.clockworkcouture.com) – Lead by the good Captain Donna, this store features not only clothing in the form of full outfits, corsets, menswear, and footwear, but also features a wonderful variety of accessories for both the body and the home.

 Mad Girl Clothing (www. pendragoncostumes.squarespace.com/madgirl-clothing) – A division of Pendragon Costumes (known for their Renaissance era costume pieces), this clothier has a nice range of clothing for both men and women.

Steampunk Emporium (www.steampunkemporium.com) – They have a wide variety of clothing-related items ranging from more on the historical side to fantastical jewelry and goggles.

Steampunk Threads (www.steampunkthreads.com) – Here you can find everything from full outfits to separates (for both men and women) and accessories, including collars and jabots.

For those interested primarily in gaining new corsets, you can find a wide range of prices at Corset Story (www.corset-story.com) and on the more custom-made end, Dark Garden (www.darkgarden.com).

For hats and accessories, you can find many at the above websites, but specifically for hats, I have found Blonde Swan (www.blondeswan.com) to be simply delightful!  You can also find a lovely variety over at Steampunk Hatter (www.steampunkhatter.com).

Finally, for just about anything you can imagine, from clothing to furniture, Victorian Trading Co. (www.victoriantradingco.com) has it all.

Please note, this is not an exhaustive list by any stretch of the imagination.  This is merely meant to give you a starting guide for preparing for your own voyage into all that is Steampunk!

I am looking forward to reporting into all of you in the coming weeks, but for now, I shall say adieu!

In Love,

Lady J (and Percy)